• Hannah

how I got a job as a nanny (twice).

Updated: Jun 25

I've found nannying to be one of the easiest forms of income, as well as one that forces me to earn basic life skills that I otherwise wouldn't have bothered with.

how I got the job.

Desperate for some extra income in my gap year, and a lack of working experience under my belt, I looked up babysitting jobs in my area. I stumbled upon Childcare.co.uk, a hub for babysitters, childminders, nanny's, and people looking for them. You can search profiles by area and what they're looking for e.g. weekends, weekdays, evenings, school pick-up etc.


I wrote a short description about myself which included my age, babysitting/childcare experience, my availability, where I'm based. I also included a recent image to personalise the profile.


There is an option on the website to set your own fees which I had as £8.50/hour but this is dependent on age and experience.


I then messaged any family that suited my availability and experience. I was working part-time elsewhere so that cancelled out some families who required full-time help, I was also not comfortable working with newborns due to a lack of experience. I was eventually messaged by a woman who needed ad-hoc help with her two children, aged 3 & 6. She was a B&B owner so would also need help with the running of her business. Always up for a challenge, I agreed to an interview with her. I ended up working there for a year.


my duties.

Childcare Duties

- Making the kids breakfast

- Teaching the kids how to ride a bike

- Reading with the kids

- Preparing dinner

- Bathing the kids and getting them ready for bed

- Teaching the kids to swim


Household Duties

- Ironing

- Clearing up the kitchen (stacking the dishwasher, wiping the sides and the table)

- Dusting and polishing

- Weekly food shop

- Laundry (washing, folding and putting away)

- Tidying up after the kids


B&B Duties

- Occasionally cooking breakfast for up to 12 guests

- Greeting guests and showing them to their room

- Taking payment

- Handling bookings online

- Assisting the laundry and cleaning staff with their duties


I got my second nannying job via the same website, when I started University, for a family with two children aged 13 & 14. I still work for them now, 2 x days a week.


my duties.

- Laundry

- Ironing

- Making the beds

- Cooking dinner and extra snacks e.g. sausage rolls, quiche, granola

- Picking (and sometimes taking) the kids up from school

- Taking the kids to their relevant clubs and activities

- Helping the kids with homework

- Weekly food shop

- Put out and take in the bins


Nannying, to me, was the best job I could've got at the time. If you know the basics of household maintenance and are good with kids, then it's a walk in the park and most of the time, a lot of fun. My current nannying job has also led me to other work opportunities within different fields that will further benefit me after graduation.


For any more advice, tips, or information, leave a comment or reach out on social media.



Want to find out how much of an adult you are? Take our quiz: https://54jc5an9rwj.typeform.com/to/Pon0bcJd


Recent Posts

See All